Working with the 7 African Powers

a subsite of


Orisha: The Evolving Forces of the Santeria, Lucumi, Candomble, IFA, and West African Tradition

Orisha Elegua

Ochun - Goddess of Love

Elegua - God of the Crossroads

Shango - King of Lightning



Candle Types

List of the 7 African Powers (1)

List of the 7 African Powers (2)

Seven African Powers Prayers

Oshun (Ochun)


The Seven African Powers are seven Orishas of Oludumare, the God/dess of the Yoruba Traditional Spiritual Tradition known as Ifa. The Yoruba Spiritual Tradition is centered in West Africa in what is now called Nigeria. During the time of the enslavement of African people in the New World, known as the Maafa ( Kiswahilli for Great Disaster), Ifa came to the Americas and the Caribbean. Anyone caught practicing the religion was put to death.

Since Christianity was the only religion allowed to the enslaved Africans, the Seven African Powers were hidden behind the Catholic saints wherever similarities were seen between the two. For example, Shango, Orisha of Thunder and Transformation, carrier of the double headed ax, was served through Saint Barbara since she too was portrayed with the double headed ax. This assured that the Orisha would survive the transatlantic passage and live on.

Centuries later the Seven African Powers are still being worshipped behind the masks of Saints...and openly by their original African names and images. People of all colors, genders, and nationalities now celebrate the Seven African Powers in the privacy of their own home and along with their spiritual families.

seven african powers


Copyright ©2015-2016